Hot Car Rescues: What is the law in Nevada?

Despite warnings, every year we hear about pets and children being left inside cars on hot days.

In Nevada, the laws are different when it comes to rescuing children than animals from hot cars.

Anyone can rescue a child from a hot car. If you break a window to get the child out, you are protected under the state’s Good Samaritan Law.

When it comes to pets, only police officers or animal control officers can use force to rescue an animal. If you see an animal inside a car, call animal control or 911.

If you’re caught leaving your pet inside a car then you could face a misdemeanor charge, which includes up to 6 months in jail or a $1,000 fine.